Image default

What is the Franchise History of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers?

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers is an American soccer team based in Tampa, Florida, with a long and storied history with the National Football League (NFL). They were founded in 1970, but it wasn’t until their second decade that they really started to make waves for themselves by winning two Super Bowl Championships. The team experienced some rough patches, including 14 consecutive losing seasons from 1983-1996. Today, the Buccaneers have their own share of victories, mostly locked within the Super Bowl. For more sports and football news and content, come visit us at

History of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers

The franchise began in 1974 as an expansion franchise in the old-American Football Conference (AFC) West division. In 1976, the team changed its name from the original “Buccaneers” to “the Bucs,” a popular nickname derived from their geographical location on Florida’s Gulf Coast. 

The first major event in their franchise history occurred in January 1976 when the Bucs joined the NFL as a result of the league’s unanimous approval of its 1976 expansion plans. As part of the NFL, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers’ most notable storylines from their first season involved former Boston Patriots linebacker Nick Buoniconti, who was named team captain and became the first Buc to appear in a Pro Bowl after recording five interceptions; and colourful running back Larry Clinton, who led the club in rushing with 654 yards on 173 carries for a 3.9-yard average. Future Hall of Fame defensive end Lee Roy Selmon, a Tampa native, also played well during his rookie campaign, earning Defensive Rookie of the Year honours while registering 5.5 sacks and recovering two fumbles.

They were awarded the franchise as they finished their inaugural campaign with a winning record of five wins and eleven losses. They met with moderate success over the next several seasons, finishing second place in their division every year from1976 to 1980. They struggled in 1981, ending the season 4-12. However, they did manage to win their first division championship title two years later.

First Superbowl

The Buccaneers advanced to the franchise’s first Super Bowl appearance in franchise history during Super Bowl XXXVII. However, they were unfortunately beaten by the Oakland Raiders 48–21. The following year, they clinched their second NFC Central Division Championship title since the league merger. Meanwhile, Tampa Buccaneers’ Super Bowl appearance in 2004 marked their second Super Bowl game, where they suffered an identical fate as their first one against the New England Patriots, losing 32–29.

Another rough patch of seasons came after that, with them missing the playoffs for the next eight consecutive seasons starting in 2002, where they finished with a franchise-worst three wins and 13 losses. They returned to the postseason again in 2005, having another losing record of 7–9. But after this season, their fortunes improved greatly when they clinched five consecutive playoff berths starting from 2007.


The franchise currently has eighteen members enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame, seven of whom have been inducted for their accomplishments with the franchise, while six have been inducted for their achievements on other teams during their playing careers.

What is the record of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers?

  • Matt Bryant’s 62-yard field goal against the Eagles in 2006 is now the third-longest of all time. It was also one that won him the game for his team, as they went on to beat Philadelphia by a scoreline of 30 – 27.
  • The Buccaneers are one of only two post-merger expansion teams to win their division title and make it into the playoffs.
  • The 2010 season was a historic one for the franchise, as they were able to win with 10 or more rookie starters. 
  • They are the only team ever to win a Super Bowl held in their home stadium as of Super Bowl LV.
  • They won 9 consecutive games with a score of 30 or more points, including playoffs.


The franchise shares an old rivalry with all three division opponents; they play annually against Green Bay and Chicago in the NFC North every year since 2002 (a decade after divisional realignment) and also play Minnesota annually in the NFC North since 1961.

They also share a bitter rivalry with the once crosstown in-division rival Detroit Lions, who in 2008 knocked them out of playoff contention in week seventeen. The franchise also competed alongside all intra-divisional opponents within the newly formed (in 2002) NFC South. In recent years, they have played annually against Carolina and New Orleans in the division.

Most Successful Coach

The franchise’s most successful coach was John McKay, who led them to their first four postseason appearances and only Super Bowl championship during the team’s varying decades at the top of league standings. Since 1976, seven different coaches have led the franchise into the postseason.

End of 2020 NFL Season

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers had a successful season in 2020, finishing 11–5 and making it to the playoffs for just their second time since 200. They advanced through all of their playoff games before finally winning Super Bowl LV at home against Tom Brady’s New England Patriots by 2 points (41–38). 

The Buccaneers won the Super Bowl in their own turf, the Raymond James Stadium–the very first team to ever win in their home stadium. The rest of their accomplishments for 2020 include being the first to have only one Pro Bowler since the Giants in 2007 and the seventh wild card to win the Super Bowl in NFL history. You may check out all the latest football betting odds at

Related posts

Leave a Reply